Twenty-nine states— Alabama , Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas , Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri , New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee , Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin and
15 Behind-The-Scenes Secrets You Didn’t Know About Moonshiners . If you’re a fan of docudrama style reality TV shows, you’ve probably come across Moonshiners . Millions of people have tuned into watch moonshiners in states like Tennessee, Virginia, and Louisiana produce their own brands of moonshine illegally.
Yes, as long as it is legal to make your own wine, you can make mead . Mead is not distilled, so it is not subject to the federal laws on distilled spirits. It is thus regulated by state law.
So why is moonshine still illegal ? Because the liquor is worth more to the government than beer or wine. Uncle Sam takes an excise tax of $2.14 for each 750-milliliter bottle of 80-proof spirits, compared with 21 cents for a bottle of wine (of 14 percent alcohol or less) and 5 cents for a can of beer .
There is little to no sweetness in this part of the run and it is far from smooth. The heads are not worth keeping for drinking and should be set aside. In general, roughly 20-30% of the liquid collected during a distillation run will be heads .